Grand Organ Composers' Competition

York Minster's Grand Organ
In partnership with York Minster and Banks Music Publications we are inviting composers to create a new composition to celebrate the return of the Minster's Grand Organ, following the completion of the once-in-a-century refurbishment of the instrument.


We are encouraging both amateur and professional musicians to submit a new work for solo organ in one of two categories – ages 18 and under or 19 and over. The winning entries will be premiered at York Minster later this year during services for Advent and Christmas.

Entries will be judged by a panel of industry experts including New York based American composer Nico Muhly, composer and former York Minster Organist and Master of Music Philip Moore, British composer Roxanna Panufnik, Canadian-born organist, conductor and composer Sarah MacDonald and York Minster’s Assistant Director of Music Ben Morris.

As well as hearing their piece performed as part of the cathedral’s carol services later this year, winners and runners-up will receive financial prizes ranging from £250 to £1,500, with the winner in each category also having their score published by choral and organ specialists Banks Music Publications.

For full details of how to apply download the brief and form via York Minster's website.

The deadline for submissions is 5pm on Monday 13 September.

6/10/2021 11:00 AM - 9/13/2021 7:00 AM
GMT Daylight Time