Patrons & President


Patron: The Archbishop of Canterbury

Following his appointment as Archbishop of Canterbury, the Rt Hon. & Most Revd Justin Welby has succeeded his predecessor as our Joint Patron with the Archbishop of Westminster, the Most Revd Vincent Nichols.

Read more


Patron: The Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster

The Cardinal Archbishop of Westminster, Vincent Nichols was born in Crosby, Liverpool in 1945 and received his secondary education at St Mary’s College. He went on to study for the priesthood at the Venerable English College in Rome, gaining licentiates in philosophy and theology at the Gregorian University. He was ordained priest in Rome in 1969 for the Archdiocese of Liverpool.

Read more

President: Harry Christophers CBE

Harry Christophers, CBE, founder and conductor of The Sixteen, has agreed to be Cathedral Music Trust’s first President.

Peter Allwood

Chair: Peter Allwood

In June 2017, Peter Allwood succeeded Prof. Peter Toyne as Chairman of the Friends of Cathedral Music. Peter was educated at Tiffin School, Kingston, was a choral scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, and then spent a postgraduate year at Durham University. He was Director of Music at Leighton Park, Oundle and Christ’s Hospital before becoming headmaster of Lichfield Cathedral School where he established secondary education through to the sixth form. He is now a freelance conductor, composer and examiner.

Read more